If your thought finding an advertiser was awkward, just take a look at our list of acronyms used in online advertisement and affiliate marketing. I hope this short list of affiliate terms helps you find your way.
Cost Per 1,000 impressions. Usually used with banner advertising. For example, an publisher may offer banner impressions at $5 CPM. The advertiser would then pay $5 per 1000 banner impressions of his advert. So for example, 50k impressions would cost $250.
Cost Per Click is usually used with banner or text link advertising. For example, if you use Google Adwords to advertise your websites then you pay Google on a cost per click basis. If you use Google Adsense on your websites then Google pays you on a CPC basis.
Cost Per Action can refer to a lead, sale or click. For example, a merchant offers its affiliates $2.00 per sign-up. The signatory hasn’t necessarily purchased anything but the merchant will still pay the affiliate for the sign-up action.
Earnings per 100 clicks. The publisher is paid per 100 clicks of an advert.
Earnings per 1,000 impressions.
Cost Per Lead. A lead could be filling out a survey, filling out some type of form, joining a newsletter, or joining a forum among others.
Pay Per Performance.
Pay Per Action. This is also the same as CPA.
Pay Per Impression. Unlike CPM, PPI is a payout per single impression not per thousand impressions.
Pay per Lead.
Pay Per Sale.
Run Of Network. Rotated banner advertising among a network of sites with no particular targeting used. For example, a website owner might sell 50,000 banner impressions at $2 CPM, RON.
Run Of Site. Rotated banner advertising among all pages of a single website.
Conversion Ratio. The CR is the percentage of something (clicks, views, etc.) needed in order to achieve a particular outcome (a sale, lead, etc.). For example, if one in a hundred of your website visitors sign-up for your newsletter, your website has a 1% newsletter sign-up ratio. CR is a critical part of affiliate marketing.
Return On Investment is the amount made back relative to your outlay. If your $200 Adwords campaign earns you $600 in sales, your ROI would be 200%. You spent $200 and got back your $200 plus another $400.
InVue ads are like pop-up ads but they appear up front, blocking the website content behind it. You can’t drag an Invue window outside the browser window, unlike normal pop-up ads. InVue ads “live” inside an existing browser window.
An Interstitial advertisement is an ad that’s delivered between webpages when browsing a website. It must usually be viewed in its entirety, or the user must take a step to remove it from view.